Worried about the Punch

Because of my family history of alcoholism and drug abuse, I made a choice at a young age not to drink. I have never, nor do I ever, plan on drinking alcohol. This is a personal choice and I have no problem being around friends that are drinking. So why am I bringing this up? We are hosting a Halloween party this weekend for the team that we joined and I have been stressed out about it. I couldn’t sleep last night because I kept worrying that someone would spike the non-alcoholic drinks. Since we don’t have alcohol at our place, and honestly wouldn’t even know what to buy, it’s a bring your own alcohol type of party. I don’t want to be the type of person that makes an announcement to not spike the non-alcoholic drinks but I also want to feel safe. Even if I did make an announcement I probably still wouldn’t feel safe. We’re all adults so I can’t imagine anyone doing something like that but then again you never know. I had a friend that would constantly make comments about trying to secretly get me drunk because he thought it’d be funny to see me drunk, even with knowing why I choose not to drink. Joking or not, it’s not funny and it’s not a joke to me. I never felt safe around him and would bring my own water if I was to visit. I know most people believe drinking is harmless, and most of the time it is, but you need to at least respect my choices and understand why I feel so strongly. It’s not like I’m asking anyone else not to drink. It’s frustrating because I feel like I would get more respect if I just lied and told people I was pregnant. I worry so much anyway that it’s probably better if I just don’t have anything to drink at my own party. I guess it’s worth it if it gives me peace of mind. I just wish people were more respectful so I wouldn’t have to worry so much and could enjoy myself as well.

Leave a Reply

