Moving on after a Mistake

Everyone makes mistakes and I try to remind myself of that fact. So I don’t know why I’m always so hard on myself. I can’t even begin to tell you how many hours and sleepless nights I spend just thinking of my mistakes over and over again; replaying them in my mind. Something I wish I hadn’t said or done, saying the wrong name of a person or place, trying to be helpful but only getting more in the way, etc. Harmless, innocent mistakes yet I have such a hard time moving forward. It’s as if I expect myself to be perfect; which is obviously impossible and unhealthy. I try to move on but all of a sudden, almost out of no where, something I did years ago will come to mind and haunt me. Causing me stress and lost sleep. It has decreased since I have been taking the time to take care of myself mentally, but it is still a struggle. I’ve tried asking my husband if he has this same struggle and he says no. Apparently he is able to just move on and put it in the past. At this point I don’t know how to move on but I’m trying to learn. Again everyone makes mistakes and that’s okay. I need to just keep telling myself that it’s okay.

Leave a Reply

